acarerseyes

Through the eyes of a carer for someone with a mental illness

You are important

1 Comment

I was looking through some of my belongings that I had kept from school when I saw, on the back of my Year 6 class photo was written a poem. I don’t know who it is by but I thought I would share it.

YOU ARE IMPORTANT

In moments of doubt

You may say it aloud,

“I’m nobody special

just a face in the crowd,

I won’t be remembered

For the things that I’ve said,

I’ve little to show

For the life that I’ve led”

Well, listen to me,

Get your head of your chest

Don’t judge your importance

By fame and success,

You’ve set yourself standards

And values of worth,

You’re loved and considered

the salt of the earth.

For the genuine feelings

That set you apart

And the caring affection

That springs from your heart.

With the warmth and the wisdom

In the words that you speak,

These are the talents

That make you unique.

Plus one added extra

Required of a star,

You’re the last one to know

How important you are.

~Unknown~

Author: acarerseyes

I am a mum to four gorgeous girls, and a carer to my former partner of eight years, Chris who has a mental illness, BPD. I blog my experiences.. life is tough! We live in Greater Manchester, UK.

One thought on “You are important

  1. Good morning! I have just discovered your blog, beautifully written, and very inspirational to anyone who is a carer! I will be following you on your journey. Best wishes Melanie Valenti

Leave a Reply

