acarerseyes

Through the eyes of a carer for someone with a mental illness

Two Years

2 Comments

Today marks two years of A Carers Eyes, and what a journey it has been. I have blogged my way through one of the toughest chapters of my life. As you know more recently my relationship with Chris came to an end and although we are going to remain friends this chapter of my life is almost over. I am no longer his nearest relative (NR) now he has been taken off his section and what with me hoping to be moving closer to my family and friends down south, I will eventually have little to do with his care.

I will never stop caring though, he is the father of my four children, I will always want him to be well and ok, and eight years of my life is a long time just to throw away. I have shared things with him I won’t ever share with anyone else. This isn’t going to be my last blog post, that probably won’t happen until Chris has been discharged from hospital completely as supposed to just staying at his dads on ‘home leave.’ I would like to continue to share my journey but I have yet to decide how I go about that if I do.

Thank you once again for continuing to support me and I will let you know of the plan when I have decided what to do.

Author: acarerseyes

I am a mum to four gorgeous girls, and a carer to my former partner of eight years, Chris who has a mental illness, BPD. I blog my experiences.. life is tough! We live in Greater Manchester, UK.

2 thoughts on “Two Years

  1. I’ve read your blog from the start and have seen how difficult it has been for you caring for Chris and trying to raise your gorgeous children. For what it is worth, I think you made a brave but no doubt difficult decision when it came to ending your relationship with Chris, but it was the right decision. You need to put yourself first and your children, and I hope you do get to move away and start afresh. You will as you said always remain friends with him and that is a good thing.

    Chris needs long term therapy if he is ever to recover from BPD, and it seems the NHS is not providing this for him. It is so sad our Mental Health care in the UK has come to this, patients and carers are treated so awfully.

    I wish you all the luck for your future.

Leave a Reply

