acarerseyes

Through the eyes of a carer for someone with a mental illness

#dearmentalhealthprofessionals number two

Leave a comment

I have decided to do another #dearmentalhealthprofessionals blog today focusing on more positive things because I have realised over the past couple of weeks the hugely different way mental health professionals have been with me, I don’t know why, maybe they have had carer training? Maybe they just know me better now? Maybe I have been more open with them? I honestly I don’t know but this is what I would say if they could read this…

Dear Mental health professionals

I know things have been really difficult with Chris lately and he has required more of your time than usual and in turn so have I but I have never once been made to feel this was too much of an effort for you. Regardless of how busy you have been or how much you have had to get done you have always found the time to speak to Chris to see if there is anything you can do and make sure that I go home feeling slightly more relaxed that Chris is well looked after. I appreciate the time taken to speak to me and the number of you that have been late to finish because of giving me the time to talk when at the end of the day you could have asked me to see you some other time.

I appreciate the hugs when I get upset and the emotion you show, because it shows you care too but then you are always able to quickly turn that into helping me feel more positive about the situation. This all means I am able to go home happier, trusting that you are looking after someone who is very special to my children and I. This is the difference to me getting some sleep and spending hours awake wondering if Chris is ok.

This is a huge difference from what I have been used to in the past and I really hope that this can continue. I wish there was more time for you to do basic things like eat and go to the toilet, that you didn’t have so much paperwork to do so you could spend longer talking with patients and helping them with their problems. I wanted to thank you for everything you have done and continue to do for Chris and all the patients in your care, thank you for looking after me and other family/friends/carers because for so long I felt forgotten.

Thank you

Sarah, mum of four, carer to my partner Chris with Borderline Personality Disorder.

 

Author: acarerseyes

I am a mum to four gorgeous girls, and a carer to my former partner of eight years, Chris who has a mental illness, BPD. I blog my experiences.. life is tough! We live in Greater Manchester, UK.

Leave a Reply

