acarerseyes

Through the eyes of a carer for someone with a mental illness

It has been a year… and what a year it’s been.

Leave a comment

Today marks a year since I first set up my blog and what a year it has been, never, when I sat here one evening a year ago after reading a post on MentalHealthCop’s blog and deciding to blog my experience in reply did I ever think that a year on I would be continuing to tell our story. I wanted to make people aware what happens to those trying to battle the mental health care system and also what happens to the people around them who live with and provide support and love, whether they recognise themselves as carer’s or not. We all forget that behind nearly every person suffering a mental illness is a family/friend/loved one, who too are going through a journey and this blog tells the story of my journey as well.

Over the past year the support I have received from others has been amazing, I have gathered a huge network of online friends who have been there through everything, as well as more understanding from those who already knew me offline. I have shared with you some of the best times of my life, Cora coming into the world and also some of the most difficult and hardest times, like the night I nearly lost Chris.

I blog not only because it is telling our story and making other people aware of what happens all over the country, every day, but because my blog it is an outlet, a place I can express how I feel, where when I don’t feel anyone is listening to me, or even that anyone cares, it is one place I can have my say and know someone is listening.

I want to thank everyone who has listened, shared, and helped me with my blog and journey this year and here’s to another year of blogging, let’s just hope this one is a little less eventful!

Author: acarerseyes

I am a mum to four gorgeous girls, and a carer to my former partner of eight years, Chris who has a mental illness, BPD. I blog my experiences.. life is tough! We live in Greater Manchester, UK.

Leave a Reply

