acarerseyes

Through the eyes of a carer for someone with a mental illness

Phoning, chasing answers.

Leave a comment

Today I have to make a few phone calls, you would never have guessed I used struggle to ring anyone, would you? Those days have long gone since looking after Chris. Anyway his current CPN has been off for a planned two weeks, She was due back last Tuesday however we were informed yesterday that she hadn’t returned and the Crisis team or Home Treatment team, whichever they want to be known as said she wouldn’t be back for another two weeks. Now as much as I am sorry she isn’t well enough to return and obviously wish her well this does leave me concerned as to where this leaves Chris again. They hadn’t made any arrangements for if she was to be off longer and the crisis team only works with people for a maximum of four weeks, this would mean they are looking to taper off their support soon but with what in place?

So today once again it falls upon me to ring up the CMHT manager and find out exactly what is going on and what kind of support they are putting in place for Chris until his CPN is well enough to return to work.  I can’t help but wondering why this always happens to us? Chris already has issues around trust but they aren’t exactly helping to make that any easier at the moment are they when over the past couple of months his social worker left, his CPN has gone on sick leave and he’s been given numerous stand in’s for her which appears to have withered out to nothing.

I know this morning they are all more than likely in their weekly team meeting so I plan on calling later today to find out exactly what is going on and thank my lucky stars that once again Chris has me to help him, what about those that don’t have someone to fight their corner? What happens to them?

His CPN had been due to see him today and if the crisis team hadn’t of spoken to us about it last night then Chris would have been unaware that she wasn’t even back yet. Wouldn’t have been a nice way to find out when she would have failed to turn up for the appointment with him.

Author: acarerseyes

I am a mum to four gorgeous girls, and a carer to my former partner of eight years, Chris who has a mental illness, BPD. I blog my experiences.. life is tough! We live in Greater Manchester, UK.

Leave a Reply

