acarerseyes

Through the eyes of a carer for someone with a mental illness

The dreaded letter

Leave a comment

Today is the day I have been waiting anxiously for, for some time, I knew what time of year it would be but didn’t know exactly when the dreaded letter would slip through my letter box onto the carpet below.  Today was that day; I picked up the letters and on the back of one read the word I fear… ATOS!

Inside the envelope a letter, a pink form and a stamped addressed envelope, the letter explaining exactly what we were meant to do and how long in which we had to do it in. We need to fill in the pink form by a set date, send it back in the envelope and wait to hear if Chris would then need a medical, also known as his work capability assessment. To put it very bluntly having to prove to the government how unwell Chris is which means him working at the moment impossible.  It means dragging every little detail up about how his life is effected and how he is feeling.

Getting a letter from ATOS will never have good timing but landing right at the moment when I am trying to keep stress to a minimum for Chris is just horrendous. His mood changed straight away as I try and reassure him not to worry about it and we will take one step at a time. First step to fill the form in and send it back, then we shall see what is suggested from there.  I just hope that I can keep him safe after we have dragged up everything again in which to complete the form, as you can imagine how distressing it can be to start raking it all up whilst already feeling very depressed.

Author: acarerseyes

I am a mum to four gorgeous girls, and a carer to my former partner of eight years, Chris who has a mental illness, BPD. I blog my experiences.. life is tough! We live in Greater Manchester, UK.

Leave a Reply

