acarerseyes

Through the eyes of a carer for someone with a mental illness

Friday 6th July 2012

1 Comment

My gorgeous baby girl Cora was born on the 6th July at 6.04pm at home weighing 7lb 13oz absolutely perfect and looking just like her sisters. My labour was very straight forward and fast, no pain relief and everything was perfect. I slate Oldham for its healthcare all the time but there is one area I cannot fault, I couldn’t speak more highly of and have a lot to thank them for and that’s their Maternity care. I have always been given amazing care from some of the most kind and caring midwives who have done everything to make me feel safe and at ease.

Chris was the most amazing support to me throughout, he was very nervous but he made me feel safe, this is just it though I feel safe with him, I could have had my mum there, my sister, anyone I wished for but they don’t make me feel safe like he does, that’s love. He cut Cora’s cord, just like he has for all of our girls. He did a great job at helping me even though he was overwhelmed himself until my mum came to stay for a week and took over everything, she looked after us all. My mother is one in a million, I have so much to thank her for but I will save that for another blog.

I am fine, lost a little more blood than they would have liked but I am looking after myself. I also ended up rather unwell on Wednesday with a high temperature, lump under my arm, generally feeling rather ill and was prescribed antibiotics because my glands were all up, they are not sure what is causing me to be unwell but I am miles better now. My girls love their new baby sister; they have taken to her so well, I am so proud of all of them and how well they seem to have settled with everything.

I will leave you with a few photos Chris has taken.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Author: acarerseyes

I am a mum to four gorgeous girls, and a carer to my former partner of eight years, Chris who has a mental illness, BPD. I blog my experiences.. life is tough! We live in Greater Manchester, UK.

One thought on “Friday 6th July 2012

  1. Congratulations!!! Cora is absolutely beautiful. (As an aside, Hub and I were joking about names for our future children and I said I loved the name Cora, haha.) I especially love the photo where she has those little wrinkles on her forehead, haha.

    Again, congrats, and I wish you and Chris the best of luck! And your other girls are just as beautiful!

Leave a Reply

