acarerseyes

Through the eyes of a carer for someone with a mental illness

Oblivious? The only ones apparently.

Leave a comment

Ever looked around and wondered if you were the only person not to know what was going on? It appears Chris and I were the only ones completely oblivious to his social worker leaving; it appears everyone else had been warned it could happen. Shame we weren’t given the same warning and instead found out when she has already left. I am really lacking faith in anyone at the moment, I have never really trusted many from mental health services before but when my faith was slowly but surely coming back I now feel even I am back to square one, don’t trust anyone mode.

I just didn’t think it was too hard to keep someone until they find someone new to take over, and then meet them both together before continuing with the new one and saying goodbye to the old one, but obviously this is too much to ask for here. Instead let Chris down and in turn everyone in our family. If this is going to be the pattern for the next one then I think having no one at all would be less damaging. Funny isn’t it? Mental health services that are meant to care for people that do anything but, it would be lovely just once to feel like we are human beings and not just numbers who can be messed around with.

There is a quote that I keep reminding myself of at the moment:

“When life gives you a hundred reasons to cry, show life that you have a thousand reasons to smile.” – Unknown

 

Author: acarerseyes

I am a mum to four gorgeous girls, and a carer to my former partner of eight years, Chris who has a mental illness, BPD. I blog my experiences.. life is tough! We live in Greater Manchester, UK.

Leave a Reply

