acarerseyes

Through the eyes of a carer for someone with a mental illness

It’s a lonely world sometimes

Leave a comment

I am finding things pretty lonely at the moment, Chris seems to be keeping himself to himself and shutting off from most things. The loneliness is probably the hardest part of caring for someone for me. It’s nice to know there is someone there for you, even if you don’t need them as such but you just know they are there. I don’t feel I have this at the moment, I feel pretty much on my own. This week has been particularly difficult I think because my parents are on holiday in Devon, the land of no signal, and where as I would normally talk to mum on the phone daily I have only been able to send the odd text message. This coupled with the fact I am super hormonal and it’s not far from my due date now, which won’t be helping.

Also after the last time Chris saw his social worker she said she would ring him and find out how things are going, knowing full well he is struggling with the thought of the new baby and worrying about me etc. She never did call, nor has she been in touch since. His GP has had a few weeks off as well only working the odd day.. support has vanished at probably one of the times they need to be dishing it out to PREVENT Chris from going downhill but no it seems to be wait until he is bad and then we will help him. Too late then in my opinion!

Author: acarerseyes

I am a mum to four gorgeous girls, and a carer to my former partner of eight years, Chris who has a mental illness, BPD. I blog my experiences.. life is tough! We live in Greater Manchester, UK.

Leave a Reply

