acarerseyes

Through the eyes of a carer for someone with a mental illness

Depot Clinic

1 Comment

Well every Wednesday is ‘bum jab day’ as it is known in this house. Chris goes attends the Depot Clinic for his weekly dose of Piportil. Today it was raining and we had just dropped the girls to Grandad’s, because taking three children with us is far from ideal, Grandad is more fun. Anyway we climbed up the stairs to the second floor, because you queue for what feels like forever in that place for the lift. As we went through the doors on the second floor the heat hit me, it was so stuffy and warm. Booked Chris in at reception where we were told there was a bit of a wait but they had called for other CPN’s to come and give them a hand. Chris and I found the only seats available and began to wait, I was starting to boil and my face felt flushed so I decided to get a leaflet to fan myself with. Sadly the only one I could find that wasn’t about STI’s, STD’s or Contraception was one about reproduction so I sat back down and wafted that in front of my face because after all it was less embarrassing than ending up in a heap on the floor after fainting.

Chris was called in about half an hour later where they apologised for the wait and she explained she had been the only nurse on Depot injections all morning. She prepared the injection and gave it to him, this is when I notice how they all have their own little techniques for giving the injection, one asks Chris to cough to relax his muscles, another asks him to take the weight off the leg he’s having it in, some put it in with caution and some look like they are throwing a dart. It is pretty fascinating to watch, doesn’t phase me at all and only once has it caused him any real uncomfortable pain. She also noted down his side effects and hoped that the new dose of procyclidine would help but to keep his social worker and doctor up to date with what has been going on so they can monitor them.

That’s his depot done.. for another week!

 

Author: acarerseyes

I am a mum to four gorgeous girls, and a carer to my former partner of eight years, Chris who has a mental illness, BPD. I blog my experiences.. life is tough! We live in Greater Manchester, UK.

One thought on “Depot Clinic

  1. Having injections is easy for me I find, I remember having my TB jab a few years back after missing it at school mainly because I was a terrified teen back then but having it in preparation for university I found there was nothing to do, the annoying part was the healing process it went on for months! I am not sure I would like to be having a depot injection on a weekly basis but needs must I suppose. I never knew CPN’s did them until my own mentioned on a few occasions she covered the depot clinic on Wednesday afternoons… I get the feeling one day she will be teaching me to do it; I suspect I would be the dart throwing one!

    As for the heat in the building, sounds like the older part of our hospital, you walk up a corridor towards the mental health departments wards and outpatients and suddenly the heat overwhelms you, it’s like mental health patients are not worthy of air conditioning, our new internet cafe is just horrendous for heat!

    Might be a wise idea to invest in one of those little battery pocket fans or ask them if they would provide fans in the waiting area.

Leave a Reply

