acarerseyes

Through the eyes of a carer for someone with a mental illness

One in ten people..

1 Comment

..with BPD (borderline personality disorder) will commit suicide. This statistic was given to me by an inpatient Psychiatrist after I had, had a very long telephone call with him (back in 2011) about why I didn’t think Chris leaving hospital after one night was a very good idea. My reasons at the time were persistent overdose, wondering off early hours of the morning, self harm and numerous trips to A&E. His mental state was getting worse and he wasn’t complying with his medication, I wasn’t able to keep up what I had been doing to keep him safe without serious consequences to my health.

While normally I wouldn’t have minded being given a statistic, good or bad I found this one particularly inappropriate at the time, it was just really unhelpful under the circumstances. While I am sure he didn’t intend to cause me more worry than I already had, he didn’t really think about what he was saying and how it could affect me before he opened his mouth. It’s not something I worry about now or that plays on my mind, I mean there is no point in worrying about something you don’t know will or won’t happen, it’s not productive. I like to think he wouldn’t be the one in ten who committed suicide but for now I am happy making sure that we make the most of being together and spending time with the girls. I could (God forbid) get hit by a bus myself tomorrow after all; there are no certainties that anyone will live until they die naturally.

Author: acarerseyes

I am a mum to four gorgeous girls, and a carer to my former partner of eight years, Chris who has a mental illness, BPD. I blog my experiences.. life is tough! We live in Greater Manchester, UK.

One thought on “One in ten people..

  1. Sometimes people simply do not think before they open their mouths and let the number’s flow out, stay strong, you do a fantastic job, for you Chris and the Girls you are one hell of a chick xxx

Leave a Reply

