acarerseyes

Through the eyes of a carer for someone with a mental illness

My weekend

Leave a comment

I have had a good weekend; my parents came up from London yesterday to spend the day with us on their way to stay with my Grandma in York. They are having a new kitchen fitted and didn’t need their oven anymore so they have given it to us, I am so pleased with it, its only about a year old and so much better than our old one, it was lovely of them to think of us like that. Chris enjoyed seeing them as well; he gets on well with my parents and as time goes by feels slowly more comfortable in their presence. It is always really nice for him to spend time with my dad in particular and gets a lot out of it. I was completely shattered by the time they left to make their way over to York.

I find seeing my parents when things have been harder of late more difficult, it makes saying goodbye hard and I could feel myself getting a lump in my throat, luckily the girls were fabulous and didn’t get upset like they sometimes do which does make it that little bit easier for me. It’s funny because I have my own family, my own responsibilities and yet my parents are such a huge part of my life, it just shows you can age but you always need your parents.

Today I have been exhausted, but things were made slightly easier by the fact Chris’ dad had invited us round to his for our tea, so that did give me a little bit of a breather as I didn’t need to worry about cooking etc and there were more eyes on the girls I felt I could relax a little. It was a lovely meal, we came home early enough to put the girls to bed on time because our Eldest hasn’t finished school for Easter yet, so tomorrow morning is just like any other school morning.. Mayhem!

Author: acarerseyes

I am a mum to four gorgeous girls, and a carer to my former partner of eight years, Chris who has a mental illness, BPD. I blog my experiences.. life is tough! We live in Greater Manchester, UK.

Leave a Reply

