acarerseyes

Through the eyes of a carer for someone with a mental illness

A blip

1 Comment

Chris was due to start the introduction sessions for the Democratic Therapeutic Community today but after a bad weekend of suicidal thoughts he was really struggling this morning. After a lot of time spent worrying and me trying to persuade him that it would be ok and he would feel better for it once he had gone he decided he just couldn’t. I was disappointed for him but I could understand why he had got himself so worked up over it. He sent a message to his social worker to explain he didn’t feel he could go and he was feeling really rubbish and suicidal. Sadly she didn’t get back to him about it today at all.

Tonight he has been struggling again, he took his full prescription of diazepam and although that isn’t a lot at seven, it’s a sign things aren’t going very well and has been a warning to me. This is how things start when everything gets worse. I have taken the key to the safe in the hope this will limit any damage that could be done. Chances are he will sleep for tonight and he is already due to see our GP in the morning where I will express my concerns as well.

 

Author: acarerseyes

I am a mum to four gorgeous girls, and a carer to my former partner of eight years, Chris who has a mental illness, BPD. I blog my experiences.. life is tough! We live in Greater Manchester, UK.

One thought on “A blip

  1. You are in my prayers and hope everything gets better, stay strong, HUGS

Leave a Reply

