acarerseyes

Through the eyes of a carer for someone with a mental illness

Music

1 Comment

I have had a bit of a hard day today, down to no reason in particular, I seem to be very tired, and I find nothing ever looks that great from behind tired eyes. Anyway once the girls and Chris were all asleep I thought I would sit down and try and unwind for a little while. One of the things I turn to quite often is music, I whack on earphones.. In my case only in one ear so I can still listen out for everyone, and listen to music. I have such a ‘unique’ taste in music I think, a lot of the older stuff that I like is all down to my parents, and growing up listening to their music in the car. Some of those include

  • Dire Straits
  • Santana
  • Eva Cassidy
  • Andrea Bocelli
  • Pink Floyd
  • Led Zeppelin

That’s to name a few anyway, or I will be here all day! Then I like modern chart music that you hear on the radio, some include..

  • Jessie J
  • Ed Sheeran
  • Adele
  • Coldplay
  • James Morrison
  • Katy Perry

Again to name and few and then there are some of my random ones…

  • Westlife
  • Take That
  • Snow Patrol
  • Damien Rice
  • Christina Aguilera
  • Cheryl Cole

As you can see that is a whole mix of music, I could sit here all night writing lists, but I enjoy nothing more when I feel like rubbish than turning my music on and getting lost in it. I suppose in a strange way it’s a bit of an escape, what I listen to tends to depend on my mood as well. Something to think about when you are feeling a little rubbish though, it certainly helps me take my mind off things. What music do you like?

Author: acarerseyes

I am a mum to four gorgeous girls, and a carer to my former partner of eight years, Chris who has a mental illness, BPD. I blog my experiences.. life is tough! We live in Greater Manchester, UK.

One thought on “Music

  1. Now I love music, pretty much anything that makes the chart as long as I can tell what they are singing, usually a song will just catch my notice often from the radio! However, there is one band I follow and this year it will be 21 years of being a fan, and that is Swedish duo Roxette who are currently in the middle of a World Comeback Tour, at the last count I had done 35 concerts across Europe of Roxette and related since my first show in 1992. this includes there solo careers and perhaps in truth it is mostly the solo career and other Swedish group of the male singer. Since there officially comeback in 2009 I have done 16 Roxette shows and another 3 are planned this summer when they come back to the UK including finally (after much begging and pleading to the group and management!) Manchester! I am officially a tour groupie and if I see the band now I am always greeted with a friendly hello!

    I know for me music has been a big part of my life from growing up, the likes of The Beatles and John Lennon played a big part of my childhood with my dad hailing from Liverpool, and music is often what I turn to first when I am both happy and sad!

Leave a Reply

