acarerseyes

Through the eyes of a carer for someone with a mental illness

Complaint Meeting

3 Comments

Yesterday both Chris and I attended a meeting about the complaint I made last September regarding Chris’ care after an overdose. I am not going to go into this in great depth because its ongoing at the moment and will be far easier to write about it all when it’s over. I was very concerned how Chris was going to handle it and on Tuesday he was showing a few worrying signs due to anxiety but he was determined still to come with me. Although the outcome was positive, we got an apology, they admitted certain things had gone wrong and didn’t for one moment give us the impression they weren’t listening and they weren’t trying to help, and Chris could see all that and agreed, it still brought everything back to him from a very difficult time in his life.

Last night he was very suicidal, and wanting to harm himself, we discussed me locking all the medication away again and I would keep the key on me, which is what I did. He was very distressed, but after the emotion of the day, we were both prepared for how bad he could feel, so it wasn’t so much of a shock to either of us. I am very proud he came with me in the first place and managed to sit in quite an intimidating room without running away from it. Luckily he always finds himself more tired after his depot injection, which he had, had yesterday morning so this helped him sleep along with his other medication. Although I still have a close eye on him and the key to the safe he seems better than he was last night, I don’t really want to jinx it though because it can change so quickly.

With regards to where we are up to with the complaint, I am waiting for the final report to be written up, though I am happy they have fully investigated what happened and I have answers and also the action they will take to improve what they do and make sure it doesn’t happen again. It’s slightly more complicated because mental health is one trust and medical wards etc is a different trust. He overdosed so started in one trust and then was handed over to the psychiatrists which are under another trust. I hope this is making sense; this however has made it clear I need to speak with the medical trust about their mental health policy and more importantly find out what it is and how they are meant to implement it. Will blog all these things in the future with what happened and then the outcome.

Author: acarerseyes

I am a mum to four gorgeous girls, and a carer to my former partner of eight years, Chris who has a mental illness, BPD. I blog my experiences.. life is tough! We live in Greater Manchester, UK.

3 thoughts on “Complaint Meeting

  1. Well done Sarah……you and Chris weathered the storm…..you managed it before it could manage you! I’m sure you are aware that moving vulnerable patients can cause a trigger effect. A ‘move’ is very different to a ‘transfer’ and the latter must be well documented! May be worth seeking advice on this because it may contribute to Chris’s feelings of anxiety.
    Well done again!

  2. Thank you. I must admit I am slightly lost as to what you mean?

  3. Yes it certainly can be confusing when your mental health comes under one trust but your local A&E is another!

Leave a Reply

