acarerseyes

Through the eyes of a carer for someone with a mental illness

Therapy

2 Comments

Currently Chris isn’t getting any kind of Therapy at all, Psychotherapy was deemed far too risky unless in a managed, controlled environment, but they couldn’t/wouldn’t? Provide the two together, so this left him unsuitable. Also after his assessment for psychotherapy it was made clear they had an 8month waiting list! The only other thing he has been offered but we are still waiting to hear about is him attending a Therapeutic Community, but 5months after he filled all the forms in with his Social Worker, no one can tell us what is going on with regards to that. So at the moment Chris is relying solely on medication, which as most people know doesn’t solve everything itself, all the time.

I remember though when Chris was first referred to the Psychotherapy services, the doctor who referred him, from the Crisis team said to us both ‘they will explain to you that you might get worse before it helps but that’s part of the process’ Now at the time the only way things could get worse was Chris dying, so it came as no surprise that they deemed Chris too high risk to start such therapy in the mental state he was in. After most of the assessments he had ended up in hospital after taking overdoses because he couldn’t deal with the emotional pain he was in. It was almost a relief in a way when they told us that this wasn’t the best way to go at the moment because I knew that myself alone couldn’t keep Chris safe when he was unable to keep himself safe.

I will keep you up to date about the Therapeutic Community though.

Author: acarerseyes

I am a mum to four gorgeous girls, and a carer to my former partner of eight years, Chris who has a mental illness, BPD. I blog my experiences.. life is tough! We live in Greater Manchester, UK.

2 thoughts on “Therapy

  1. Mental health services in this country are appalling. We need ore therapists so we can intervene earlier not leave us sitting around for months in end waiting in hell.
    I’m doing, once again, everything I can to get better myself. And banging my head against a brick wall. If you are suicidal there is no where to go so no wonder people turn to drink, drugs, self harm, whatever will make them feel better for the interim then after mints of waiting the therapy isn’t suitable anyway etc. it’s so frustrating.
    You’re doing a fantastic job. Lots of love to you for keeping Chris safe. Xx

  2. I think you are in the North West (Manchester) unless I am mixing you up with someone else’s blog. I was in a Therapeutic Community in the town I am in but in truth, it was unhelpful and I deemed it more detrimental to my health in the end, the group eventually folded because people stopped referring to it as it had a bad reputation. After that, they created the MBT group, which I am in now, and which one of the same staff runs, it is a lot better but MBT is still a new concept in the UK for BPD. Six months into an 18 months programme I am noticing the difference in things I do / say / act, although most of the group have been through a crisis between the beginning and six month mark. If you are in Manchester then there is a specific therapy place the NHS uses called the Red House in Swinton, although I might be telling you something you already know.

Leave a Reply

