acarerseyes

Through the eyes of a carer for someone with a mental illness

Valentine’s Day

2 Comments

Valentine’s day when you’re the care of your valentine, the one you love can be one of those days that go by unnoticed, not that I ever mind. I always say we don’t need a day set aside to show how much we love each other. It does however get on my nerves a little when I hear others going on about the flowers their loved one picked up from the garage, or the fact they only got a card like it’s some competition.

Thing is when the person you love isn’t very well you know how massive it is for them to even be able to get the card, because when someone suffers with anxiety it isn’t just a case of ‘oh just nip to the supermarket’ you know what they have been through emotionally to even get there in the first place, let alone been able to buy something as well.

Today Chris gave me a card, a red rose and a box of chocolates, I cried and he got emotional as well, in fact this year it’s me that wasn’t physically well enough to get him anything to which I apologised profusely for. His reply was ‘you know Sarah, as long as I have you today, I don’t need anything else.’

Thing is I can’t explain what this means to me, when he’s very unwell he can go for months without knowing what I do for him, because he’s too poorly to see it, so to hear things like that and read the words that were written in the card just makes everything I do and have done even more worthwhile. I love him very much too!

Author: acarerseyes

I am a mum to four gorgeous girls, and a carer to my former partner of eight years, Chris who has a mental illness, BPD. I blog my experiences.. life is tough! We live in Greater Manchester, UK.

2 thoughts on “Valentine’s Day

  1. I suffer from horrible anxiety that pretty much made me agoraphobic so I understand what a task it was for Chris to go out and get you something. I am sure it meant the world to you simply because he did it. This post made me smile, just to know that Chris was able to get out if only for a few minutes. Please let him know there are people rooting for him!

  2. That was so sweet and thoughtful. Love does conquer all

Leave a Reply

