acarerseyes

Through the eyes of a carer for someone with a mental illness

What is BPD?

5 Comments

I wasnt going to write much about what BPD is because I’m no expert, but I do want other people to be aware of what others suffer, in the bid to help others be more accepting and understanding of mental illnesses. So I have gathered a little bit of information and put some links on.

BPD, Borderline Personality Disorder or Emotionally Unstable Personality Disorder, what exactly is it? Well for a start the name of it is enough to scare anyone, and secondly a lot of health professionals still hold the old view that people diagnosed with it can’t be helped, when it’s far from the truth.

Last year I was looking up BPD and I came across something someone had put together on YouTube, it’s probably one of the best ways to explain how Chris feels, he too has seen the video and that was the first time he recognised he wasn’t alone. (Just want to point out that the title expresses that it’s TRIGGERING, so please only watch it if you feel safe to do so.)

A few things about BPD

  1. It occurs more commonly in females than males some statistics suggest as much as 75% more in females
  2. BPD is said to effect less than 1% of the general population
  3. It’s not normally diagnosed until adulthood
  4. People with BPD tend to have higher rates of other mental health related problems
  5. According to research people with BPD are more likely to have suicidal thoughts or attempt suicide compared to people with other psychiatric illnesses

So I hope more people learn to understand more about those suffering from BPD because it isn’t someone attention seeking, it isn’t someone being intentionally demanding or that they can’t be bothered to engage its someone suffering inside emotionally more than most of us can comprehend.

Here are a couple of great sites with a lot more information on BPD

BPD world

Mind

 

 

Author: acarerseyes

I am a mum to four gorgeous girls, and a carer to my former partner of eight years, Chris who has a mental illness, BPD. I blog my experiences.. life is tough! We live in Greater Manchester, UK.

5 thoughts on “What is BPD?

  1. .
    Thanks and have a blessed day

  2. When I was diagnosed I found that you tube clip and could relate to it so much. Thanks for reminding me, I haven’t seen it in ages 🙂

  3. how it made me cry..
    no-one could explain it any better x

  4. Thank you so much for this I wish to raise awareness and found your blog. Well said.

Leave a Reply

