acarerseyes

Through the eyes of a carer for someone with a mental illness

Bad Jokes

1 Comment

It’s hard to know how to help Chris sometimes, I can tell when things aren’t right and I can ask what’s wrong, and listen but it’s hard to know what to do to make him feel better. I know it doesn’t matter what I do or say when you feel that rubbish it’s not going to take it all away. However when he is feeling depressed and he’s struggling I threaten him with my bad jokes, this rarely fails to put a smile on his face just because he knows how rubbish they are! So here goes..

What do you call a deer with no eyes?

No eye deer

Why did the crab laugh?

Because the sea weed

What is a dentist’s favourite instrument?

A Tuba toothpaste

Why was Tigger looking down the toilet?

Because he was looking for pooh

What subjects do snakes like?

Hiss-tory

As you can see my jokes are pretty bad, but they are so bad I can usually crack a smile out of Chris after one of them. It’s so nice to see him smile, sometimes when I’ve gone weeks seeing him so low that one smile makes such a difference. Anyway, after a mixed day with him going to bed for some of it, and struggling quite a bit I tried it earlier, the crab joke, just as he was eating seaweed. I got a smile; he even laughed a little, its nice he’s gone to bed with a couple of happy thoughts too.

Author: acarerseyes

I am a mum to four gorgeous girls, and a carer to my former partner of eight years, Chris who has a mental illness, BPD. I blog my experiences.. life is tough! We live in Greater Manchester, UK.

One thought on “Bad Jokes

  1. They made me lol 😉

Leave a Reply

