acarerseyes

Through the eyes of a carer for someone with a mental illness

Rabone UK Supreme Court case.

Leave a comment

As much as I believe that the judgement in the Rabone and another v Pennine Healthcare NHS Foundation Trust case that was published this morning is very much positive and the correct one I cant help but wondering of other implications that could occur. One question that I did have to ask myself was, would they just refuse most informal patients to enter psychiatric units in the first place and pass them into Crisis teams or send them home like nothing has happened. Take for example Chris, who had tried to commit suicide twice in a week was told even after asking if he could be admitted to hospital because he was concerned about himself and his thoughts that he ‘didnt meet the criteria for hospital admission’ that was for being informal.

It’s Pennine Care that Chris and I are up against all the time, its them I have an ongoing complaint with, its them who allowed Chris home every time he asked because ‘hes informal there is nothing we can do to stop him’. So reading about that young girl today was rather close to home and I felt so sad for her and her parents, because Ive walked out of hospital with Chris after making it known I wasnt one bit happy with him being allowed leave or to be discharged, where he has even attempted suicide again shortly after but thankfully I’ve not lost him, I couldnt imagine doing so. So I cant even contemplate the pain they have gone through. I hope the ruleling brings some comfort to them.

I really hope that not only do Pennine Care learn alot from this but every other psychiatric unit/NHS trust as well. I have never wanted Chris’ rights taken from him for anything other than to give him his right to life and never unless I have always had very good reasons to believe that he was at great great risk to himself.

Author: acarerseyes

I am a mum to four gorgeous girls, and a carer to my former partner of eight years, Chris who has a mental illness, BPD. I blog my experiences.. life is tough! We live in Greater Manchester, UK.

Leave a Reply

