acarerseyes

Through the eyes of a carer for someone with a mental illness

Who am I?

1 Comment

Sometimes I don’t get a lot of sleep, or my sleep is very broken, my answer to most people asking how I am is ‘I’m tired’.
I don’t get a lot of help and without me around to hold things together the basic running of my household falls apart.
I know a lot about anti depressants, anti psychotics, mood stabilisers and side effects despite having no medical background or training.
My voice can also be someone else’s voice when they can’t find their own in dealing with other people, and need someone to speak up for them.
Until I found myself in this position I wasn’t very confident, now I regularly find myself dealing with a number of different professionals, which has sometimes been a very draining battle with little success.
The list of things I do is endless, this list of reasons I do it is endless and the love I do it for is endless…. who am I?

 

A CARER!

As well as a mum to our three girls I’m also a carer to my partner of six years, Chris. He is diagnosed with Borderline Personality Disorder. I would be lying to you if I said life wasn’t tough, of course it is but the four very special people in my life keep me going and make everything worthwhile. This blog is my views as a carer and a mum trying to battle through every day life I hope you find it interesting. Thank you.

Author: acarerseyes

I am a mum to four gorgeous girls, and a carer to my former partner of eight years, Chris who has a mental illness, BPD. I blog my experiences.. life is tough! We live in Greater Manchester, UK.

One thought on “Who am I?

  1. Thank you for your honest account of life as a carer, I have found it very interesting and moving.
    If I can help in any way with info etc please find me on Twitter@JoinedU1
    Thoughts to your ‘special people’ too, I wish you all well .

Leave a Reply

